Two Year Blog and the [sort of] end.

2012-new-years3
Is it me, or did the holidays just fly by this year? And to think that we’re already full-blown into the new year, with new goals and ideas already in our midst. And I’ll be adding mine to the pot.

If you’ve been reading here a while, you might notice that today is the two year anniversary of my blog’s existence.

I started the blog two years ago without telling a soul, other than my husband. It was a way for me to vent my frustrations as the deaf person I was. Looking back, it’s only now that I realize how much I was hurting, depressed, and in a way, I feel like this blog saved my sanity. By writing, I was able to express all those pent up emotions that I was too afraid to tell anyone about. By opening up myself, I realized how many others out there faced exactly what I did, and it made me feel like I wasn’t alone out there. For that, I greatly thank my readers. You’ve grounded me in a way that nothing else really could.

While today is a big milestone of two years, it’s a little bittersweet to me. Today I also have to admit that with so much in my life right now, and being the now-stable-and-well-adjusted individual that I am, I just can’t see that I should continue writing the blog on a frequent basis. I’d love to continue writing about the challenges I face as a [technically] deaf person, but the fact of the matter is that I’m finding I can hardly relate to being deaf anymore. Being a little annoyed at my slight hearing loss, yes, but the trauma I felt as a deaf person? That’s not really me anymore.

My life has become….so….. normal.

Normal.

How many times did I want that two years ago? Every moment of my day.

In a way, I feel like my blog ends here today. I don’t plan on removing it from online. Far from it. If it can continue to help anyone who finds it, then it should stay here indefinitely. But it’s with a heavy heart that I say I won’t actually be continuing to write anymore.

But there’s more!

In 2012 I have big dreams. Big goals. And one of them is right here.

I’ve already started compiling all the blogs written here, and I want to put them in book format. My goal isn’t to see how many readers I can get or how many books I can sell. My biggest goal is to help so many understand what a person faced with hearing loss and cochlear implantation goes through on a daily basis. I’m really tempted to create an e-book for online only, but I do want to make it available to as many who might need it. So maybe a published book. Who knows yet? But I do know that while I won’t be posting in any frequent way here, I will update in a few months on how the book is coming along. Rest assured, I’ll post about the finished product here first!

Published or e-book, I gotta say that if I get a few readers, any and all proceeds will go directly toward my dream of getting a second implant. Oh surround sound, how I miss you! By technical name, I’d love to be a bilateral implant recipient. It sounds just dreamy, doesn’t it?

Now that you know the two goals and dreams most dear to my heart, I want to say a big thank you to those of you who have read my blog. Your reading, comments, and emails of encouragement have meant so much to me during this journey, and I’ve been so happy to have you along for the ride.

It’s the most boring thing to think, but so awesome for me to say, that I hope my life just keeps on being normal.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rhonda on January 7, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    So sad to see your last post, but so truly thankful you decided to do the blog. I know you have helped many others, as well as myself, who could and can relate to your experience. Thanks so much for putting into words what we all feel!!! Best wishes to you!!

    Reply

  2. It has been good to read all of the heartfelt thing of a girl I admire. One of Whom I know she serves and loves. There have been many times that my own heart has melted with the truths that you have spoken. I hold high admiration to a lady that has kept to a road of Hope and Joy even in the mist of sorrows eyes. Keeping Hope and Joy is a good thing because it is strength to the bearer and not death to the bones. Hope is a strength and the giver of that Hope is the one you own within your heart. So, my best and love to you as you embark on your book and wish you that very best you and the ones of your ministry of love……..truely you are also flyingHigh

    Reply

  3. I have recently started a blog, based on my own deafness, and how it makes the character I am. I admire your posts, please take a look of mine: http://adeafboyinaloudworld.wordpress.com

    Reply

  4. Hey Angela, I wanted to send you a message but didn’t see any contact info here. Could you shoot me an email?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

