This is me.

One question people often ask me is if I was born deaf. The answer? no. I was born a perfectly healthy baby and grew up as most any normal child would, for the most part anyway.

I grew up in suburbia USA. My mom and dad have been married thirty plus years, they had three kids, and we all lived in the same house all my life until I moved out. I lived in a happy, well adjusted, Christian household which is a lot more than most people can say. But I think one thing robbed us of the whole white picket fence ideal. My dad was deaf.

Even from my earliest memories, I can hardly remember my dad being able to hear me unless I was yelling to get his attention. That’s just the way things were. On top of that, my dad’s mom (my grandmother) was also deaf. Believe it or not, we rarely even talked about it. I mean, what was to talk about? It was just a fact of life and we all adjusted the best we could.

But what happened? I don’t even really know. All I do know is that the the year I turned 17, my hearing went downhill. It began so gradual I couldn’t even tell it was happening, but by the time I got married at 20, I remember asking my soon-to-be husband if he would still want to marry me if he knew I might be hearing impaired. But even with all that, I never thought that after having my first child, my hearing would plummet so fast that by the time I was 27 I couldn’t even hear well enough to talk over the phone.

And today? Today I create a blog and realize that it’s the very first time I call myself deaf. Granted, I’ve seen it on the doctor’s hearing charts the last two years, but when you grow up hearing every music note and bird chirp, it’s just so hard to admit.

So where does that leave me now? Don’t think this blog will be about some seriously depressed crazy deaf girl. Far from it. I’m still in suburbia, just shy of the white picket fence. Today it’s my husband of nearly 10 years, myself, and my two beautiful kids (who hear perfectly fine I might add).

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by shondasdailybread on April 27, 2011 at 12:38 am

    Just found your blog today. Ready to read on. Yea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

