Grilled Chicken Sandwich

Anyone who knows me understands that I’m a do-it-myself kind of girl. I think it might be stemmed from the fact that I’m deaf, and I really loathe having anyone do something for me even if it’s not because of my disability. So the other day when I came across this recipe, my mouth started watering as I wondered what it would taste like if it was grilled. Now I’m no expert griller. Heck, I don’t even think that’s a word. Point is, that whenever we need grilling done around here, I always have to depend on my husband to do it. Why? Well that’s because we have a grill from the stone age. But yesterday I was determined to battle that grill on my own.

Did I mention our grill sometimes falls over? It might get a little help from our toddlers with that, but as you can see it doesn’t really stand up straight. But that’s ok because it cooks meat just fine.

For the Grilled Chicken Sandwich, our cast of characters are below.

I chose to grill my chicken, but please feel free to do it over the stove if you don’t have a grill. For the grill, I also used these.

Now before we proceed, don’t forget that I’m not the expert griller. This is how I started my grill and since my husband didn’t make funny comments about my grilling technique when he arrived home, I’m assuming I didn’t do TOO bad.

So begin by pouring your charcoal onto the bottom grill of your charcoal grill.

Then try to arrange them so that they are somewhat even in height. I didn’t have very much charcoal, so this is kind of a bad example. Usually I make one layer of coals along the bottom, about the same size as above, and then make a second layer on top. I didn’t have that much charcoal so I just arranged them the best I could. Ended up being just enough!

After that we grab the lighter fluid.

Make sure the lighter fluid covers all of the charcoal. It’s best if you actually let it sit on them a few minutes, then come back and apply another layer. If it’s windy (like it was when I did this), you really have to soak them good to keep the fire going.

Next is my favorite part.

Standing with your body away from the top of the grill (unlike me leaning over to take a picture), light the charcoals with a lighter. Or a match, or whatever you have on hand.

Success! I topped my fire immediately with my grill so that it could get nice and hot.

You don’t want to immediately put your chicken on because the flame is too high and would just burn it up. I started the grill first so that I could prepare the chicken while the fire is dying out. I want the coals to be hot with a little gray coloring on them from burning, but not actually on fire. So leave the fire alone for now and let’s prep the chicken while the coals are heating up from the flames.

So now to prepare the chicken.

Place a chicken breast between two pieces of plastic wrap and, using a rolling pin or large can, smash to an even thickness. No need to beat the thing to death, just make the thickness of the chicken even throughout.

Season both sides of chicken liberally with lemon pepper seasoning salt. This looks like a lot, but even though it’s called seasoning salt, there are a lot of other seasoning in there too. It won’t taste the same if you add more after it’s cooked, so be sure to add plenty before you throw it on the grill.

Now place the chicken on the grill. You can see how the fire on the coals has gone out and what the coals look like when it’s ready to start grilling.

Don’t be afraid of those hairy arms. Those aren’t mine. My husband arrived home just in time to actually do the grilling and save our chicken before it was too late. I tend to forget to check on meat out on the grill while I’m chasing around toddlers.

While the chicken is on the grill, fry the bacon. This bacon happens to be pepper bacon, and if you’ve never tried it you should. I’m not a huge pepper fan other than for just seasoning, but my goodness does pepper add flavor to bacon!

Drain the bacon on a paper towel when finished cooking.

The bacon takes a couple minutes, during which time you might have to flip your chicken. When the chicken is almost done, place three strips of bacon (mine were actually cut in half) on your chicken.

Now place your cheese on the chicken and cover the grill with the lid. Before long….

The cheese will be all melty and gooey, and will look similar to this. Hmm… maybe I should have added another slice. I’m hungry though and this chicken is done!

Let’s put it together so we can eat!

Grab your roll of choice. I used a hamburger bun, but I can just imagine how yummy it would be on a potato roll or even a kaiser roll. My leftover bun from hamburgers the other night will have to do.

And mustard. Don’t forget that. If you have never used a spicy brown mustard, your missing something in life. I’ve always hated mustard but buy it at regular intervals for my husband. Onne day on a whim, I found this bottle of stuff and even though my husband still eats that yellow goo they call mustard, I am completely in love with spicy brown mustard. It’s the real deal.

Here it is again in case you missed it. Yum.

Sorry, I got distracted.

Add your chicken. Notice I cut my chicken to fit the bun. I had some hungry toddlers that I knew wouldn’t eat a sandwich, so I cut up a piece of the chicken for them and put it with some veggies. They were happy.

Now for some greens. Because I’m health conscious. What’s that? Oh that bacon is good protein. And the cheese? Well that’s my dairy for the day. Back to the green.

I’m partial to this. Or butter lettuce would be good too.

Are you hungry yet? I know I am.

Potato chips, pickles, and an ice cold glass of sweet tea are the perfect accompaniment.

You’ll never go back to a plain chicken sandwich again.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Michael Farrell on April 11, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Grilling is da best! I live in SoCal, where we grill most of the year ’round. My fave is salmon and grilled veggies, like red and green peppers, pineapples, carrots, purple onions, etc. The heat caramelizes the veggies and makes ’em really sweet.

    I try not to use lighter fluid, since it flavors the food and I’m worried about my health from eating it. Try one of those charcoal-starter canisters (Weber makes one), where you drop the briquets on top of a few pieces of newspaper, use a match, then wait till the coals are glowing before you transfer them into the grill. It also improves the flavor to use mesquite or hardwood briquets. Bye!

    Michael

    Reply

    • Oooh, thanks for the tip. I’ve seen those used on TV before, but I grew up watching my dad use lighter fluid. I’ll have to find one of those canisters though because they look like they might make things a little easier.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Michael Farrell on April 12, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    Welcome! Those canisters are amazing: simple but genius. After reading your grilling story, I had a look at my grill out back, where it’s been all winter, gathering dirt and cobwebs. I may have to open the official 2010 grilling season this weekend. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2011 at 1:46 pm

    That great!!!
    I am glad about grilling chicken how learn for cooking thank you so much.
    I eat sooooooo good! I love it!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

