The case of the stolen photo

I’ve always been a pretty creative person. In college, I majored in Interior Design and received a Bachelor of Fine Arts, but I’m fairly certain that my parents wasted about fifty grand on a degree I’ll probably not use much. The area I’m most creative has nothing to do with paint and drapes, and has everything to do with food.

I decorate cakes. As a little girl I remember watching my mom every time she decorated a cake for someone’s wedding, anniversary, birthday, or any other type of milestone. It’s a dangerous business to be in. I think I’ve made a few friends and family irritated at one time or another because once you learn to decorate really good, all those friends and family come out of the woodwork to ask you to decorate a cake for them, their friends, their friend’s friend, and their cousin’s aunt’s sister’s grandchild. Or something like that.

The great thing about doing those for family is that they make easy portfolio pictures. And through the years, I’ve had tons of practice. TONS (big family). So much that this year I became a full fledged legal cake business. My website is a mess because I haven’t had time to get even half of my portfolio pictures on it, but hopefully I can get time this weekend to fix it.

Now it’s incredibly ironic, but my husband came up with the name Loud Cakes some time ago, and the name just stuck with me. We had originally come up with that name because I wanted a very unique name, my own dot-com, and I wanted it to send a message. A person’s wedding cake says a lot about her as a person, right? Well of course it’s weird that I don’t hear, and I choose that name, and it’s even weirder that I never even thought of it. But there it is, in case you wondered.

So yesterday as I’m checking my email, trying to get some wedding cake quotes out to a few brides via email, and I received an interesting message. A lady had emailed me and informed me that a bakery was using one of my portfolio pictures as one of their own. I’ve seen this happen before and it’s really not a big deal, but I did decide to look into it. I don’t mind anyone using my cake images, just give me the credit for it.

Here’s the picture of my cake.

When I went to the bakery website, I was really just a little annoyed, but more flattered than anything. When I realized they were located in Orlando? Then I was REALLY flattered. How on earth did someone in Florida find my website when I haven’t advertised one iota? No clue on that.

So I emailed the bakery and the owner actually responded very kindly, apologizing, because they had hired a cake decorator who had come with her own portfolio, which the bakery posted on the web, and didn’t know until a few days ago that some of the photos were not actually cakes that the employee designed. Or rather I should say ex-employee. She was fired a few days ago before I even knew about my photo.

I actually felt sorry for the bakery, but at the same time I did view the girl’s portfolio and I know for certain that I’ve seen several of those other cakes in various ads. I don’t know whether to feel sorry for the bakery for getting duped or for being so uninformed in the cake world.

All I know is that after waking up in the middle of the night to change my 3 year old son’s sheets, give him a shower, and change his clothes, I’m pretty darn worn out. So cakes this weekend get put aside, and this blog gets put aside while I go crash while the kiddos are napping. Well either that or make a big pot of Starbucks coffee. Yumm.

One response to this post.

  1. hey could you write a dairy entry from a deaf person please its my homework and i dont know what to write but you are really good at writing emottionly so please can you help

    thanks you xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

