Happy Father’s Day

For all the difficulties I may have with being deaf, there is one thing I know for certain. I am always loved, supported, encouraged, and very often inspired by my family. I don’t know if my parents want me to expose all, but let’s just say that I know that they have been married for over thirty years. If that doesn’t inspire, I really don’t know what does.

I know without doubt that if I ever need anything, both my parents will drop everything and come running. They’ve always been that way, and I know they always will.

This is my dad with my oldest, my son.

IMG_0974

My son’s 4th birthday is rapidly approaching and for his party invites, me and my dad took him to a local John Deere vendor who was kind enough to let me photograph my son with the large equipment (my son knows all of the equipment names, but I’m just not as educated). My boy is obviously telling my dad all about the equipment, clearly to my dad’s delight. And no, my dad doesn’t use this equipment, he works on military airplanes. But he still listens to my son with rapt attention.

In dedication to my dad on Father’s Day, I’ve decided to post three things that I remember most about my childhood with him. One would think that one of these memories might include the fact that he, like me, struggled with deafness (which he doesn’t really anymore, good thing!), but when I thought a lot about him as I started typing, I realized that he never let that issue define him. The things I remember most have absolutely nothing to do with that. And I love that.

Of everything I remember, first and foremost is his love for God. When I look back over the course of my entire life, one thing I will never forget about my dad is how he enjoys reading his Bible. I remember so many early Saturday and Sunday mornings that I would find my dad sitting in a chair on the back porch reading his bible while drinking his coffee. I think that picture is ingrained in my head and I don’t even need a photo for it.

I bet he could even recite the books of the Bible, which is something I’ve certainly always failed to get right. Does II Chronicles come before I Chronicles or vice-versa? Kidding! I’m not quite that bad. Or so I like to think.

Second. Dad is very very very slow to anger. Seriously. Although I don’t remember the exact circumstances behind it, I do remember very vividly one time I that made my dad mad. I can’t recall what I did, but I remember going to talk to my dad after it was dark while he was sitting on the bed of a pickup truck. I do know that it’s been ages since he owned a truck, so I can only think that it was a LONG time ago when this happened.

So he was sitting on the truck bed, and I remember talking to him about something, but I can’t remember what it was. He got so incredibly angry with me that he slammed the bed of the truck closed and stormed inside ahead of me. No yelling, no grounding, spanking, or anything remotely close. He slammed something. And that’s as mad as I can ever remember seeing him.

Lastly, the third thing.

This.

IMG_0963-5000

My dad has always, and is always, helping and supporting me in every way imaginable. He helps my son pose for photos, he helps me service my car when I can’t tell the oil from the power steering fluid, he helped me buy my first car, and he helps me by watching the kids when I need a girls’ night out.

When I first uploaded and took a serious look at the picture of my dad and my son, I got all teary-eyed. See, this is how I always remember my dad and his support. Helping me do things I have a hard time doing on my own, and encouraging me to not just do them, but do them well.

I love you, Dad. Thanks for wonderful childhood, and for our friendship I greatly value as adults. You inspire me to be a better person that I am today, something that I hope to one day do for my own children. Happy Father’s Day. You deserve it.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Sue on June 20, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    I love the pic. of your Father and Son with his hard hat and bibbs. Just way too cute. Sounds like you have a wonderful father. I also have some wonderful memories of my Father ( Step Father ). He passed 39 years ago. When I was 16 years old and I miss him every day. Wishing your Husband and Father a wonderful Fathers Day.
    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

