A [not so] newsworthy update and other random thoughts

Today has been rocky, but I seem to be gliding smoother now. And that’s a good thing.

Last week my caseworker sent my file and CT scans to DARS’ medical examiner to approve my second surgery for my Cochlear implant, and we haven’t heard from her this week yet. I hate to harass someone to do something, and I know that my case has to be sent to several people to be looked at, so I’ve given her a little space to get things done.

What we did figure out is that my surgery has gone from my caseworker to her boss for approval. Then my caseworker sent it to the medical examiner who will (but hasn’t yet to our knowledge) approve it and sent it to the main office in Austin for another approval. The Austin office must approve it and send funding to an office in Arlington (a suburb of Dallas), and the Arlington office will call my ENT’s office to schedule the surgery. Is anyone confused yet?

So it’s a long process, and it’s the exact process that took a solid year to happen the first time around. The first time it took so long simply because my former caseworker forgot that her clients really did live and breathe, but my current caseworker is hopefully getting things done. My husband called her today and left a message a few hours ago, but we haven’t heard back from her yet. At this point we will hound her voicemail until she responds. She’s had plenty time. So there’s a little DARS education for ya.

Today has been rough because I figured that I’d have my surgery at least scheduled by now. At the very least, I thought that I’d have heard about the Austin office now having the file. But nada. Nothing.

In an effort to ward off any oncoming self pity, my kiddos and I just spent the last few hours making cutout sugar cookies, icing them with the not-so-great frosting from a can, and covering them in every sprinkle color imaginable, all the while having a magnificent time. There’s just nothing that lifts my mood like spending time with my little ones, and the great thing is that it doesn’t even have to include me hearing them. They’re just super fun.

By the end of the week I expect to have my surgery scheduled, although yes, I do realize I said that last week. This week will be met with a little more persistence on that subject however.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I kind of understand what you’re going through. I had to deal with TRC (which is now DARS) way back in the day. Any kind of “governmental” organization is going to be dang slow. Here’s to hoping that things get resolved quickly.

    I also understand warding off self pity and depression and attempting to ward it off. That sounds yummy! Of course, I would have eaten as many as I could which is not a good thing! LOL. 😀

    Reply

  2. Yes, the government is pretty slow about things, but I guess I can’t complain since I’m not paying. I sure felt like eating all those cookies, but I somehow managed to refrain. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

