My sister. My friend. My very gifted photog.

I love my sister. She’s one of those people that has been there through thick and thin with me, and if I ever needed anything, I know that she’d be there in a heartbeat. A few weekends ago I asked her to take my family’s Christmas pictures, and there are no words to express my appreciation for these printable memories.

I do realize that Christmas is a long ways off, but because our Christmas cards have to be sent off to the printer and shipped to us, we gotta do the whole portrait thing pretty far in advance.

amy

I told my sister only a very few things, but the rest was up to her. I showed her the outfits we would all wear, and I told her that I want to do a photoshoot in a big field with furniture. I know it’s weird to place furniture in the middle of a field, but that was the whole point. I’d surfed a lot of photography websites, I had seen someone shoot the field/furniture thing, and it really grabbed me as being unique. So with those few things as direction, here’s what my sister shot.

My son went first, and I just could NOT make up my mind about a dozen pictures, so I had to post three. I’m sorry, but he’s just that cute!

IMG_4984-6000ColeChair

IMG_4987

Next was my daughter, and for whatever reason, she was in a dreadful mood. I find it very interesting that every year ONE of our children is very uncooperative.

IMG_4978IMG_4972_2-6000

Despite the fact that she didn’t want to smile at the camera, we were able to sneak in a few decent shots.

IMG_4967-6000IMG_4975_2-6000

I just love that girl to pieces, no matter how much she didn’t want to smile. It was pretty chilly out there in the middle of the field, so I do give her that much.

Ang_Addison

When I say that my daughter was uncooperative, I really have no earthy idea where she gets it from. Everyone else in our family is extremely polite and poses naturally upon command.

DSC04604DSC04594

Ok, maybe I was fibbing. When my husband isn’t goofing off, he is….

Well….

Ok, fine, he’s always goofing off. But on occasion we can get him to smile nicely for the camera.

JessAng_FrameIMG_4998-6000

Notice here how my daughter is looking at her brother. This happens very, very often.

IMG_4991-6000

Even with all the posing, the kids did have fun. Hay is fun, right?

ColeAddi_hay

They did get a little instruction on the whole sit-in-the-old trunk pictures. I swear they almost broke the trunk before my sister started instructing. Don’t tell my parents that, since the very old trunk was on loan.

IMG_5338-6000

DSC04630IMG_5333_2-6000
DSC04636

Sometime around the whole trunk thing, we let let kids just break loose and have fun. Let me tell you, there is just nothing like a good picture of kiddos having fun. Completely unposed.

IMG_5113-6000IMG_5101-6000

Because c’mon, who doesn’t like to jump on a sofa? And a sofa in the middle of a field? Well that’s just pure bliss I tell ya!

IMG_5108-6000IMG_5088-6000IMG_5089-6000

And we just can’t go without a pillow fight! We love pillow fights with daddy. Those are the best kind!

IMG_5134-6000IMG_5143-6000

But this next picture? Be still my heart…

IMG_5167-6000

We might not have gotten a full family picture that I just adore, being that kids will be kids, but I love so many of the kids’ pictures that it really doesn’t matter. I didn’t post the pictures that will go out on our Christmas cards. You’ll have to come back around Christmas-time to find that one here.

I just love this holiday time of year. Don’t you?

IMG_5191_2-6000

Leave a Reply

