Revision surgery date has arrived

Two days ago, my ENT’s office called with some very good news. Not only had my surgery been approved a few days ago by DARS, but my doc’s office called to set the date for the actual procedure.

Let me pause to do my happy dance.

Wait.

I can’t dance.

So enter the bad news. The only surgery date they had available for this year, was December 23rd. Scratch that. They really didn’t have a surgery date available at all, but my doc was going to go in on the 23rd, during one of his days off for Christmas vacation, specifically to do my surgery.

My first reaction was pure, unadulterated joy. I could actually do this before Christmas and be able to hear by February. How great is that?! My mom had texted me, because the office had actually called her to see if that date was ok, and I replied an immediate yes. Let’s do it!

But after the rush of excitement settled, I realized that the date was two days before Christmas. It’s also the day of my church’s Christmas service, and in case I’ve yet to say so, my husband is a pastor. That certainly wasn’t a deciding factor. I mean, I’ve done this surgery before, so it’s not like my husband even has to be the one there during surgery. He could probably make it to the surgery, if he wanted to, and still do the Christmas service, with or without me. The many friends and family that make up our congregation have been with us through the whole process and would certainly be very understanding if I wasn’t present.

But.

The kids.

Our kids.

My three year old little girl and my four year old little boy.

Could I honestly choose to have my surgery two days before Christmas on the first year that they’ll both finally be old enough to enjoy Christmas? Let me tell ya, that decision was one of the hardest I’ve made in a very long time. This surgery is not just for me, it’s for all of us, and while I’m nearly beside myself with the anticipation of finally, finally having this revision surgery done, I just couldn’t do it so close to Christmas.

My surgery date has been irrevocably set for January 14, 2011. Cue angelic music.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by suenndy on December 4, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    Good choice of dates. Christmas with your family and not recovering from surgey sounds (no pun intended) like the best choice for all of you.

    Reply

  2. I’m glad you decided to postpone it to a later date. I know how hard it must be to wait; but, a few weeks more isn’t going to hurt. Being with your kids during the holiday time is priceless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

