Day 6: My Little Helper

Day 6, after my Cochlear activation, began with a load of laundry.

I have laundry from a husband who changes clothes more than I do, a four year old boy who gets dirtier than our dog, a three year old girl who still uses her shirt as a napkin, and then there is also me. Needless to say, we have a lot of laundry, and I put in the first of a great many loads.

After taking my son to school around the corner, I fixed my daughter some cereal. I started hearing what I thought was the air-conditioner. I went to check it, since it was so cool that day and I had the windows open, but the air-conditioner wasn’t even on. I walked into the bathroom, checking to see if the vent-fan was on, but it wasn’t. What is that noise, I finally mumbled as I walked back to the kitchen. My daughter quickly scrambled out of her chair and ran to the pantry to place both hands on the washing machine.

“It’s this, Mommy!” She told me in her too-loud voice, as she tumbled into giggles.

I laughed, and gave her a hug, because she was right. The washer was filling with water for its rinse cycle, and I was mistaking the sound of water for what I thought was the a/c.

Later on, I’d hear what I thought was music, only to have my daughter tell me that it was my son’s train phone ringing. It doesn’t really ring, but make all sorts of train moving/honking horn sounds. Let me tell you, it was much easier to just ask my little girl than following these sounds all over the house trying to figure out what they were! Even three year olds can teach you things!

It’s weird, but even the static-type sound of spraying one of the kid’s clothes with Shout, or the abrasive sound of the toothbrush scrubbing a stain simply just amazes me. There were so many noisy sounds that I never realized I was missing.

Toward the end of the day, the kids were outside playing while I was in my bedroom on the computer. My bedrooms is the room next to the living room (which both face the backyard), and while my bedroom windows were not open to the backyard, my living room windows were. While sitting at my computer, I could hear the distinct sound of one of my kids crying, and I was able to get up and go see what had happened. I can’t begin to tell you how much this means to me as a mother. I’ve spent the last six years not being able to hear either of my children cry from infancy, and to now be able to hear them when they cry just stuck with me emotionally. I feel like they are safer now. And I just love that.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Flyinghigh on February 28, 2011 at 12:20 pm

    Great

    Reply

Leave a Reply

