Days 11-14

Over the past two weeks, I’ve kept a written journal to keep track of my milestones each day until I have a chance to detail them here. As I said in my last blog, the milestones are further between.

Days 11-14 post-activation of my Cochlear Implant kind of ran together in a giant mush. I was so busy I hardly had time to breathe, and you don’t even want to know what my house looked like when the whirlwind of activity slowed down.

I feel like my biggest milestone for those days was that I finally increased my volume. This may seem like a minute detail, but I was very happy to see that the headaches had not returned and for the first time since Day 5, I could finally begin progress again. I needed volume. It was like listening to the television slightly too low, forcing you to concentrate a little harder than you might have to if it was turned up a notch or two. Bringing the volume up gradually over the course of Days 11-14, I noticed that I concentrated less on what people were saying.

Milestones?

Sitting in a restaurant with my husband and kids and finally being able to converse with my husband.

Volunteering at a ginormous children’s clothing consignment sale, that’s in a large convention hall, and conversing with other volunteers without problems.

Not having to tell every single person that I talk to that I can’t hear.

Not having to tell anyone in the course of Days 11-14 that I have a hearing problem.

Milestones? Heck yeah!

Leave a Reply

