Even therapy won’t fix this.

This week my husband flew to South Carolina for a conference and was gone overnight. And one thing that I always hated about being completely deaf was that if my husband is out of town, I’d never hear an emergency. I used to not be able to hear fire alarms, my dog barking, an intruder breaking in, my kiddos screaming from nightmares, nothing. Now that I have my cochlear implant activated however, it’s pretty obvious that I don’t have that problem anymore, so long as I’m sleeping with my processor on.

But there’s another problem.

This is the first time my husband was out of town overnight since activating my implant and processor. After putting the kids in bed the other night, I put a fresh rechargeable battery in my processor to be sure it lasted through the night, and I went to bed. I usually take off my processor at night to give my head a rest, especially where the two magnets connect from my implant and processor. It gets sore in that spot on my head if I have long days, but even though I knew I might wake up with a sore spot, I didn’t mind if it meant I’d hear anything that might be an emergency during the night.

I think I went to bed at about eleven o’clock. My dog lay down next to the bed, and I felt nice and safe knowing I could hear.

PerfectPhoto_image

About an hour after I lay down and had fallen asleep, I woke up with a jerk to click-click-click-click-click… I looked at the clock, saw it was close to midnight, and wondered at the sound.

I listened….

crunch-crunch-crunch-crunch… The dog had moved from my bedside, left the carpet of my room, and I knew his nails had clicked their way across our wood and tile floors to the kitchen, where he was now munching on his dog food. So I went back to sleep.

An hour later… click-click-click-click-click… I turned over and went back to sleep.

An hour later… click-click-click-click-click…

“Vador lay down and be still!” I finally commanded him.

An hour later it was air-conditioner kicking in. The toilet flushing from one of the kids. And one thing after another…

Obviously I made coffee first thing the following morning. Really strong coffee. And obviously I’m only going to sleep in my processor on the nights that it’s absolutely necessary.

2 responses to this post.

  1. The only times i have slept with my processor was by accident – i was reading or listening to music and dozed off. Usually i’d wake up to find the battery had died or it had slipped off or some sound woke me up. I wouldnt mind experiencing a full night with my processor but the batt only lasts 3.5hours and i worry it will slip off and i’ll crush it!

    What make is your CI and how long does the battery lasts?

    x

    Reply

    • I just had my surgery September 13 of 2010, and I think my implant came out the year before that. It’s Cochlear America brand, model being the Nucleus 5. My processor has a rechargeable battery that lasts about 20-24 hours, or I can use disposable batteries that last can last 30 hours or so.

      Have you thought about updating your implant/processor? I know several recipients who have done so over the last few years, so I didn’t know if it was something you had thought about.

      I’ve checked out your blog a few times. It’s nice to read through someone else’s experiences too. I’ve enjoyed it!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

