New me. New picture.

Some of you, all of you, or maybe just a few of you might have visited my “About Me” page at some point or another during the last [almost] two years of my blogging. If you did, you’d have formerly seen a picture I’d always figured kinda summed me up.

This one.
CIMG5934

When I took the picture, it was long before I had my cochlear implant surgery, and back when I struggled as a deaf person. Being born hearing but late deafened, my first year here as a blogger was my most difficult one. My children were still toddlers, my marriage was bumpy, and while I really wanted to be happy, it was just so very hard to be. I never quite looked life in the eye.

But now? Almost seven months post-activation of my cochlear implant, I know I’m a completely different person.

This is me.

eMcGMini_Shook_117b

I normally hate pictures of me. I’m just not one of those people who is comfortable with being photographed, but I got this picture in the mail this week from the photographer we used a few weeks back for family pics. And I love it. I’m such a visual person, and it’s here in this picture that I can see for myself just how much I really am different. It’s one thing to feel it, but for me it’s something completely different to see it.

Thank you McGowan Images for this tangible product of my life now.

I gotta go find a kleenex now!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by rhonda on October 9, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Tears..tears!! I hope and pray this is me in a year!!

    Reply

  2. Oh wow! I’m weepy with you now… I had no idea! I’m so glad this new headshot reflects the growing you, and thrilled that I got to meet your sweet family! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on October 10, 2011 at 11:48 am

    yo! pass the kleenex!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

